How do you know you need to rest?

Forums Mobility and Recovery How do you know you need to rest?

This topic contains 1 reply, has 2 voices, and was last updated by  Shawn Steggink 1 week, 1 day ago.

Viewing 2 posts - 1 through 2 (of 2 total)
  • Author

Therese Namu
    Participant

Hi folks! I’m new to the program, me and my man have done 2 weeks of bootcamp and it’s quite amazing! I have a question though about pushing yourself. When do you know you need to rest? Cause even though I consider myself quite fit (we’re doing kickboxing 3 times/week) I’ve never really pushed myself but always taken a rest at the first sign of being tired. Now, however, I’ve decided to see how far I can go (part of accepting the Seal-mentality!). This week has been tough, I was really tired after tuesday’s sealfit workout, then we did 2 hours really hard kickboxing in the evening and today,thursday, we’ve done both the sealfit workout in the morning and then 3 hours of kickboxing class. I’m not injured, I’m not stiff a la robocop (although I’m sore), I’m just generally tired in my body. And this evening’s kickboxing was hard, I was on the verge of breaking down and literally starting to cry during the class because I felt so exhausted and in the car afterwards I actually did start to cry. But, here’s the thing. I can intellectually understand I’m not on the verge of being exhausted or “dying”. I’ve been fueling myself with chicken for days, had some good nights’ rest, I don’t have a stressful lifestyle and I’ve worked hard for only 4 days. So, my body should be able to keep going for a lot longer before it actually starts to take damage.
    So, 1) why do I feel like breaking down and cry? It didn’t feel like my mind was making a drama story on the training, and the crying didn’t come from feeling sorry for myself (as far as I can see).